Little Myriad Smiles

How the Random Me Befriended Destiny, Let Her Flip Flop with My Life and Landed on Both My Feet

Posted on: August 27, 2011

Randomness defines me. I am just another random girl trying to fit in this planet earth. But wait, is it so?

“There is a garden in every childhood, an enchanted place where colors are brighter, the air softer, and the morning more fragrant than ever again.”

These words of Elizabeth Lawrence piggyback me down the memory lane.

I was seven when I waddled into the garden and took my baby steps in this enchanted place called the library wherein I experienced my first love. Yes, I fell in love with the books. Next day I went to school and proudly flashed my membership card. But to my disappointment nobody shared my enthusiasm…half of them didn’t even know what it was in the first place. But the little me was ecstatic. Books became my window to the world and when everybody around me was playing with dolls, I curled into bed with an Enid Blyton book. The amazing world of books took me to places I have never been and maybe would never be able to go. It opened new windows for me…broadened my outlook…heightened my knowledge…made me happy, sad, cry, jump up with excitement and what not!

As I grew up, my ambitions kept on changing. At one point of time I wanted to be the next Kalpana Chawla and at other point I wanted to be a Barka Dutt. The former made me espouse Physics; the latter got me glued to NDTV. But destiny’s child that I am, she had other plans for me.

The voracious reader in me screamed out for literature after my plus two. But a lot of cajoling from my parents and teachers saw me losing my confidence. I decided to be the pragmatic one. A degree in engineering would be your free ticket to all the lucrative careers. And inevitably I fell into the country’s so-called engineers…those teeming crowd of zilch interest…another one in a billion!

One look at my college, I saw my heart sinking even deeper. Smiling faces were no longer in the picture, sulkiness loomed large…’aargh’ was my watchword! I did everything except trying to listen to lectures. First when I started using cuss words, I was horrified at myself. Later on it became habitual as everybody around me was also doing the same. Bunking classes was an idiosyncrasy I couldn’t do away with. Perfected the art of doodling…my notebooks were filled with my creativity than the geek stuff.

The four years went past me like a flash and I was the rudderless boat in this mighty ocean called life. At that point of time, I got recruited into a company called Software Paradigm International (SPI) which honestly, I had never heard of before. I decided to swim with the flow and came to the royal city,Mysore. The three months saw me getting trained in the technical side…not that I hated it, but I just didn’t feel it was my calling.  Again destiny had other plans. I was able to switch to the business side and I fell in love again…this time, with the retail industry. The dynamicity and vivaciousness of the retail trends perked up my interest and got me going.

“The journey of thousand miles begins with a single step”

I took that step twenty-two years ago and I am still traveling.

In my odyssey of figuring out whether I am just a random girl in this teeming crowd of Homo sapiens, I figured out I am not. In fact, none of us are. I have had my share of the twins-the good and the bad and both of them have made an equal share in moulding me into what I am today. Now I can confidently say, “Yes, I have the rudder and I can very well row the boat in this ocean of life”

Ashleigh Brilliant aptly said,” My life has a superb cast, but I can’t figure out the plot.”

Even I find the plot part all bleak. But if you ask me, what my ultimate aim in life is, when I finally have a rendezvous with God, He should say, “Hey, I didn’t do such a bad job creating this one.” 🙂

P.S: My icebreaker speech for Toastmasters.

http://www.toastmasters.org/

5 Responses to "How the Random Me Befriended Destiny, Let Her Flip Flop with My Life and Landed on Both My Feet"

That’s a wonderful ice breaker speech sure you passed with flying colours.. 🙂

Hiya! Welcome to my blog 🙂
Thank you 🙂 Don’t know about the flying colors part but did get the best speaker 😀
I was going through your blog and I loved those short snippets…crisp and spot-on!

Best Speaker.. That’s Nice! Congrats!!:)

Thanks for visiting my blog too! I was basically into analogies and poetry.. the fiction short stories bit started recently. 🙂

Here is one more place where I write take a look if you like it: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Captured-Writings/227194853980967

I loved your speech. Script is beautifully crafted. I can visualize your agony when you were cajoled to do something other than your passion. I am sure you will go places if you take to writing full time.

Hi Sujata!

Welcome to my blog! Thank you for those wonderful words. Coming from an awesome author/blogger like you , it means a lot to me 🙂

Leave a Reply

Archives

August 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Twitter Updates

Blog Stats

  • 3,636 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 797 other followers

